Kansas Workers Compensation

wagetable2

Kansas ranks 9th lowest in the US for Workers' Compensation Rates (Kansas Department of Commerce). In 2012, the average cost of Workers' Compensation Insurance paid was $1.25 per $100 of covered wages in Kansas. 

Kansas is a National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) state, where valid Workers Compensation coverage is 
required. The only exception is if your business is involved in certain agricultural pursuits with a gross annual payroll of $20,000 or less. If the employer is a sole proprietor or a partnership, wages paid to the owner and family members are not used in the computation towards the $20,000. 

Kansas Workers' Compensation Key Details:
  • Sole proprietors, partners, and LLC members in Kansas are exempt from coverage, but can elect to be included in the Worker's Compensation policy. 
  • Independent contractors with no employees may choose to exempt themselves from carrying Workers' Compensation Insurance. However, if they do employ workers, and their gross payroll exceeds $20,000 they must provide coverage for employees.
  • Family members who are not owners of the company and do not own 10% of the business must be included in the coverage and cannot elect to be excluded
  • Insurance must be purchased through a private insurance company unless you are eligible for self-insurance. 
Source: Insureon. Accessed: June 24, 2016.

Still have questions about Workers' Compensation requirements? Click here to visit the Kansas Department of Labor for more resources. 

Workers Compensation Rights & Responsibilities

Kansas is a Right-To-Work State



Under Kansas law, an employee is not be required to join a union or pay dues or fees to any labor union, association or organization, as a condition of employment. Kansas has had a low union membership rate, an average 9.9% from 2014 to 2015 -lower than the National Average. Specifically, Pottawatomie County offers low cost-labor in one of the fastest growing markets in the state of Kansas.(U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
 

Kansas Unemployment Insurance 


Information about benefit claims may be obtained from the Unemployment Insurance office listed below:

Kansas Unemployment Insurance Contact Center
PO Box 3539
Topeka, KS 66601-3539
Toll Free phone: (800) 292-6333

Most employer questions can be answered by selecting the "employer" option on the phone system.
Get Kansas Benefits website

Unemployment Insurance Fast Facts

Source: ADP 2016 Fast Wage and Tax Facts (Accessed June 30, 2016)
Maximum 2016 Taxable Earnings $14,000
Employee Deduction None
Employer 2016 Tax Rates 0.20-7.60%
Standard 2016 New Employer Rate 2.7%
Voluntary Contribution Permitted Yes
kdol